Lower Drawdy One Room Schoolhouse
The first school in Andrew was built in 1906 and made of logs. In 1916, the school was damaged by a flood; a new school was built in 1917. during the 1920's, a new highway was planned for construction on property near the school; the school had to be moved. Mr. Winfield kinder used oxen to move the building approximately 100 feet. children attended the school until 1959 when they were transferred to the peytona grade school. the property was sold by the board of education to a mr. workman. the empty building remained on the property from 1959 until its relocation to its present location.
Edith Javins, Principal of Nellis Grade School had a strong desire to preserve the last one-room school in Boone County. In 1977 she negotiated with the then owner, Robert Harmon, for the building; the negotiation was unsuccessful.
In 1982, Miss Javins began negotiating with the new property owner, Jim Hall. Finally the school was acquired with the help of the Boone County Landmark Commission, the Andrew School Committee coordinated by Paul McCallister and had it moved to the Coal Valley Park in Racine.
Under the direction of Indra Ferrell, the Retired School Employees Association assumed much of the fund raising activities to restore the building.
On October 15, 1985 the building was dedicated to the children of Boone County and was accepted for the children by Superintendent Kenneth R. Mabe. Speakers at the dedication included State Superintendent of Schools Tom McNeel and U.S. Senator Robert B. Byrd
The restored and refurbished building provides a unique learning environment and experience for young students, as well as a meeting place for older citizens and a living history for all who visit the school.
The Lower Drawdy One Room School is now located (1990) in the John M. Slack Coal River Memorial Park at Racine.